Welcome to East Cambridgeshire Liberal Democrats. Our local party covers the area of East Cambridgeshire District Council, including the city of Ely, the market towns of Soham and Littleport, and the many villages of all sizes in the district.

Three of the council wards in East Cambridgeshire (Sutton, Downham, and Littleport) are in the North East Cambridgeshire parliamentary constituency, with the remaining eleven wards in the South East Cambridgeshire parliamentary constituency.

Our elected representatives

The Liberal Democrats hold 11 of the 28 seats on East Cambridgeshire District Council:

  • Bottisham: Cllrs Charlotte Cane (Deputy Group Leader) and John Trapp
  • Ely East: Cllr Matt Downey
  • Ely North: Cllrs Simon Harries and Alison Whelan
  • Ely West: Cllr Christine Whelan
  • Haddenham: Cllr Gareth Wilson
  • Soham North: Cllrs Victoria Charlesworth and Alec Jones
  • Sutton: Cllrs Lorna Dupré (Group Leader) and Mark Inskip

Cllr Lorna Dupré also represents the Sutton division on Cambridgeshire County Council, where the Liberal Democrats hold 16 seats out of 61 and are the second largest group on the Council.


Chair - Mark Inskip
Vice-Chair – Gareth Wilson
Secretary - Cllr Lorna Dupre
Treasurer - David Wright
Membership Officer - Cllr Christine Whelan


South East Cambridgeshire Liberal Democrats - Parliamentary Constituency

Liberal Democrats national website

Lib Dems Campaign Collage. A series of photos of Lib Dems Campaigning